Again, a difficult topic, mainly because it’s hard to decide what sets apart a josei anime from other anime series. In the end I think I’ll choose Haibane Renmei, because to me this series truly represents what josei stands for: it’s a very mature series, and you need to go through some thinking to understand the deeper layers of what is happening.
In the beginning I was mostly confused, because even though I understood the superficial part of this series, I couldn’t shake off the feeling that something deeper was going on, and that it may be representing our own world, and even go as far as criticizing it. I found many elements that led to this conclusion, and I loved looking for those elements in the anime. This definitely isn’t the kind of anime that you watch to relax, because then you’ll fail to see the true beauty of it.

