There are quite a lot of anime villains that I like. Well, maybe “like” is not the most adequate word; perhaps it’s better to say that there are a lot of anime villains that are portrayed in an interesting way. The villain that I think is the most interesting is Darcia from Wolf’s Rain.

SPOILER WARNING: this blog post may contain spoilers of Wolf’s Rain. You have been warned.

In some weird way, I could understand his way of thinking. “If I can’t reach paradise, then no one can.” The fact that he’s not utterly evil, but has his own reasons for his doings is what makes this character very fascinating. Also the fact that he’s given a relatively elaborate background story helps to identify more with this character. I absolutely hate it if villains are only portrayed as evil, but if there is never an explanation for their behaviour. Luckily this was not the case in this anime.

